When does the January transfer window close in Premier League, La Liga, Serie A, etc

Your guild to soccer tips

Mark Ogden joins the panel to answer your tweets on Liverpool’s FA Cup defeat, Man United’s transfer targets, bold predictions for 2019 and more.
Arsenal’s Unai Emery believes it isn’t easy to improve the squad in the January transfer window but they are watching one or two players after their win over Fulham.

Unlike the summer transfer window, which has a more staggered transfer deadline, in Europe most leagues close on Jan. 31 — but at different points throughout the day.

In all cases, clubs are still able to sign players as free agents after the deadline, and as long as they are not officially attached to any club when the window closes on Jan. 31. 

Premier League transfer deadline

The deadline is at 11 p.m. GMT (6 p.m. ET) on Thursday, Jan. 31. The EFL, including the Championship, will also have the same deadline. 

La Liga transfer deadline

Spanish clubs have not decided to make any changes to the way their market operates, and the window will close as usual at 11.59 p.m. CET (6.59 p.m. ET) on Friday, Aug. 31. Clubs can still sign free agents after this date and sell or loan players to leagues where the transfer market is still open.

The winter window runs throughout January.

Christian Pulisic's move to Chelsea is one filled with great potential but not one without major risk.
Christian Pulisic has joined Chelsea, but been loaned back to Borussia Dortmund until the summer.

Serie A transfer deadline

Bizarrely, Italian football had originally planned to run a truncated winter window from Thursday, Jan. 3 to Friday, Jan. 18 at 8 p.m. CET. It would appear sense was seen last month, however, with the deadline now restored to Jan. 31 at 8 p.m. CET (3 p.m. ET).

Bundesliga transfer deadline

German clubs have until 6 p.m. CET (1 p.m. ET) on Jan. 31. Clubs can still sell or loan players to leagues where the window is still open for the remainder of the day.

Ligue 1 transfer deadline

Ligue 1 will operate exactly the same as La Liga, with the transfer deadline at 11.59 p.m. CET (6.59 p.m. ET) on Jan. 31 and the winter window spanning January.

Selected other deadlines

Jan. 31: Australia, Belgium, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland 
Feb. 2: Portugal
Feb 22: Russia
Feb. 28: China
Mar. 3: Ukraine

The Major League Soccer transfer widow closes on May 7.

MORE:

All transfers

Transfer Talk blog

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *